Project Management Software for Marketing Agencies: Honest Comparisons and Pricing

We may earn a commission from links on this page. Learn more

Published

The best project management software for a marketing agency in 2026 depends on how your team works: a small agency running a handful of client accounts needs something different from a 30-person shop juggling dozens of campaigns. Based on published pricing, plan documentation and verified customer reviews, ClickUp and monday.com are the two strongest general-purpose picks — ClickUp for agencies that want deep customization at a low per-seat cost, monday.com for teams that value a polished, intuitive interface. Below you will find a full breakdown of both, plus when each fits and when it does not.

a laptop computer sitting on top of a white table

Why Project Management Software Matters for Agencies

Client deadlines, campaign briefs, content calendars, approval rounds and invoicing all collide inside an agency. Without a dedicated system, work lives in email threads and chat messages, and nothing is visible across the whole team. A project management platform gives every account a single home: tasks, deadlines, assignees, statuses and files in one place.

Marketing agencies have a few specific requirements that set them apart from general project management users:

  • Multiple client workspaces that stay separate from one another
  • Approval and review workflows for creative assets
  • Time tracking tied to client billing
  • Automations to handle repetitive status updates and notifications
  • Integrations with the rest of the agency stack — CRMs, reporting tools and social schedulers

Both ClickUp and monday.com address these needs directly from their published plan pages. We work from those specifications, not from hands-on installation, and we say so throughout.

ClickUp: Deep Customization at a Low Per-Seat Cost

ClickUp is a strong pick for agencies that want to tailor every view, status and workflow to match exactly how their team operates. Based on the seller's published pricing (checked November 2026), prices are per user per month billed annually.

What the plans include

  • Free Forever: $0 per user per month. Unlimited tasks, 5 Spaces, Kanban Boards, Calendar View, Sprint Management, Time Tracking and 100 MCP calls per day. Storage is capped at 60 MB. A ClickUp Brain trial (500 credits per workspace) is included.
  • Core: $9 per user per month billed annually. Unlimited storage, unlimited Spaces and Forms, Gantt Charts, ClickUp Chat, 1,000 automations per month, Guest Permissions, Google Drive and Dropbox integration, Live Chat Support and 1,000 AI Brain credits per user per month pooled.
  • Business: $17 per user per month billed annually. 10,000 automations per month, Advanced Dashboards, Webhooks, Resource Management, Google SSO, private Views and Docs, Timesheets, Time in Status Reports and 1,500 AI credits per user per month.
  • Enterprise: Custom pricing. 1,000,000 automations per month, White Labeling, Unlimited Custom Roles, Advanced SSO and SCIM, Audit Logs, HIPAA support with a BAA, and Connected Search across Google Drive, Gmail, Slack and Microsoft Teams.
  • Max: $100 per user per month billed annually. Everything in Enterprise plus the ClickUp Brain MAX engine, unlimited Autopilot Agents, unlimited AI Image Generation and 10,000 AI credits per user per month.

Yearly billing saves up to 33% versus monthly, and ClickUp offers a 100% money-back guarantee (clickup.com/pricing, checked November 2026).

Who ClickUp fits

ClickUp suits agencies that need a highly configurable system: custom task statuses for each client, multiple view types (list, board, Gantt, calendar, timeline) and automation rules that cut repetitive work. The Core plan at $9 per seat per month is one of the lowest verified prices among full-featured project management tools in 2026.

Who ClickUp fits less well

The sheer number of options can slow onboarding for smaller teams or less technical staff. If your agency needs a tool that a new hire can use confidently on day one without configuration, the learning curve is a real cost. White labeling is only on the Enterprise plan, so if you need branded client-facing project views, confirm the Enterprise price with ClickUp's sales team before committing.

See current pricing and plan details at ClickUp's plans page.

monday.com: Polished Interface, Strong Automation

monday.com is a strong pick for agencies that prioritize a visual, easy-to-navigate workspace that non-technical team members and clients can pick up quickly. All prices below are per seat per month billed annually, based on 10 seats, from the seller's published pricing (checked November 2026).

What the plans include

  • Free: $0 forever. Up to 2 seats, 3 boards, 3 Docs, 200-plus templates and 8 column types. No AI features.
  • Basic: $9 per seat per month. 1,000 AI credits per month, 3 AI tools, unlimited free viewers, unlimited items. A current special offer reduces the 10-seat total by $10 per month — confirm this is still active on the pricing page before budgeting.
  • Standard: $12 per seat per month. 2,000 AI credits per month, 5 AI tools, 3 workflows, 250 automations per month, 250 integrations per month, Timeline and Gantt views, Calendar view, Guest access, 1,000 API calls per day.
  • Pro: $19 per seat per month. 3,000 AI credits per month, 6 AI tools, 20 workflows, 25,000 automations per month, 25,000 integrations per month, private boards and docs, time tracking, advanced columns and 10,000 API calls per day.
  • Enterprise: Custom pricing. Up to 250,000 automation and integration actions per month, enterprise-grade security and governance, portfolio management, resource management and custom AI credits. Contact monday.com's sales team for a quote.

Yearly billing saves 18% versus monthly. No credit card is required to start the free plan (monday.com/pricing, checked November 2026). AI credits can be purchased additionally on any paid plan.

Who monday.com fits

monday.com suits agencies that want a clean, colorful board experience that clients or stakeholders can view without confusion. The Pro plan's 25,000 monthly automations and integrations is particularly relevant for agencies running high-volume campaign workflows. On G2, monday.com holds a 4.7 out of 5 from 17,879 reviews and 4.6 out of 5 from 6,124 reviews on Software Advice, both checked October 2026.

Who monday.com fits less well

The per-seat pricing stacks up quickly for larger teams. An agency with 15 people on the Pro plan would be paying more than ClickUp's equivalent tier at the same seat count — run the arithmetic against your actual team size before deciding. The free plan caps at 2 seats, so it is not a practical long-term option for even the smallest agency.

See current pricing at monday.com's plans page.

Side-by-Side Comparison: ClickUp vs. monday.com

The following facts come directly from each seller's published pricing page (checked November 2026). Prices change, so confirm the latest figures before purchasing.

  • Entry paid price: ClickUp Core $9 per user per month (annual); monday.com Basic $9 per seat per month (annual, 10-seat basis)
  • Free plan: ClickUp — unlimited members, 60 MB storage, 5 Spaces; monday.com — 2 seats, 3 boards
  • Automations (mid-tier plan): ClickUp Business 10,000 per month; monday.com Pro 25,000 per month
  • Time tracking: Both included from Business/Pro tier and above
  • Gantt charts: ClickUp — Core and above; monday.com — Standard and above
  • Guest access: ClickUp — Core (Guest Permissions); monday.com — Standard
  • White labeling: ClickUp — Enterprise only (custom pricing); monday.com — Enterprise only (custom pricing)
  • HIPAA compliance: ClickUp — Enterprise with BAA; monday.com — not stated in published pricing reviewed
  • Money-back guarantee: ClickUp — 100%; monday.com — not stated in published pricing reviewed
  • AI credits: ClickUp — 1,000–10,000 per user per month depending on plan; monday.com — 1,000–3,000 per seat per month plus custom on Enterprise
a laptop computer sitting on top of a desk

How to Choose Between ClickUp and monday.com

Both tools cover the agency fundamentals. The decision usually comes down to three practical questions:

How technical is your team?

If you have an operations manager or team lead who enjoys configuring systems, ClickUp's flexibility is an asset. If most of your team are designers, writers and account managers who need to pick up the tool without training, monday.com's more guided interface has a gentler slope.

How important is automation volume?

At the mid-tier, monday.com's Pro plan allows 25,000 automation actions per month versus ClickUp Business's 10,000. For an agency running dozens of client campaigns with automated status updates, deadline reminders and integration triggers, that difference can matter. Confirm the exact limits on each seller's current pricing page before you commit.

What does your full software stack look like?

Project management does not live in isolation. If you are running client accounts on HighLevel, for example — a platform we use daily and cover in depth on this site — you want a project management tool that integrates cleanly with your CRM and reporting layer. Both ClickUp and monday.com support third-party integrations at their mid and upper tiers; check the specific integration your team needs is available before signing up. For more on how HighLevel fits into an agency stack, see our GoHighLevel White Label Mobile App guide.

What to Look for in Any Agency Project Management Tool

Whether you go with ClickUp, monday.com or another option entirely, these are the features worth verifying against the seller's published specifications before you commit:

  • Client workspaces: Can you separate each client's work so team members only see what they need to?
  • Automations: What is the monthly automation limit on the plan you actually need? Hitting a cap mid-month disrupts workflows.
  • Time tracking: Is it built in, or does it require a third-party integration? Which plan unlocks it?
  • Guest or client access: Can clients view boards or approve tasks without paying for a full seat?
  • File storage: Is there a cap? Large creative agencies handling video assets will hit a low storage limit quickly.
  • Integrations: Confirm your CRM, reporting tool and social scheduler are supported. See our best SEO software for agencies guide for tools that commonly appear in the agency stack.
  • Security and compliance: If you handle health clients or financial data, check whether the plan includes SOC 2, HIPAA or a BAA.

The Role of Project Management in the Wider Agency Stack

Project management software works best when it is connected to the other tools your agency uses. A few of the most common integration points:

CRM and client portals

If your agency uses a CRM like HighLevel to manage leads and client communications, your project management tool should sit alongside it — not replace it. We run client accounts on HighLevel every day, and the clearest workflow we have seen is: deal closes in the CRM, a project kicks off in the project management tool, progress is reported through a client portal. If you are evaluating a dedicated client portal layer, our Assembly Client Portal review covers one of the strongest options in this space.

Reporting and dashboards

Project status is only one dimension. Campaign performance reporting typically lives in a dedicated tool. For a full comparison of reporting options, see our Databox alternative guide and the Databox pricing breakdown.

Social media and content

Content calendars often start in a project management board, then move into a dedicated scheduling tool for publishing. Our best social media management tool for agencies guide covers how scheduling fits the bigger workflow picture.

Pricing Transparency and What to Watch For

Both ClickUp and monday.com publish their pricing clearly, but a few common traps catch agencies off guard:

Per-seat costs compound fast

A 15-person agency on monday.com Pro at $19 per seat per month (annual billing) pays $285 per month — before any add-ons or extra AI credits. Run the arithmetic against your actual headcount, not a hypothetical small team. ClickUp Business at $17 per seat for the same 15 people is $255 per month. The difference is $360 per year — worth checking before you lock into an annual contract.

Annual commitments and upgrades

Both tools offer annual billing at a discount. Confirm the cancellation and upgrade terms on the seller's current pricing page before paying a year upfront, especially for a team that is growing. ClickUp's published pricing page lists a 100% money-back guarantee; confirm the current terms directly with ClickUp.

Automation limits are per workspace, not per user

Monday.com's automation allowances are per workspace per month. If you run a single workspace for all client accounts and trigger automations heavily, you may reach the plan cap. Confirm the current workspace structure and limits on monday.com's pricing page before designing your automation rules.

Other Tools Worth Knowing About

ClickUp and monday.com are the two strongest options based on verified pricing and review data available to us in 2026, but they are not the only ones. A few alternatives worth researching on their own pricing pages:

  • Asana — widely used in agency environments; pricing is not in our verified facts, so check asana.com directly for current plans.
  • Notion — popular for documentation-heavy teams; confirm project management depth on their pricing page before committing.
  • HighLevel — for agencies that want CRM, pipeline management and basic project-like workflows in a single platform; see our HighLevel for Real Estate review for a sense of its breadth, and visit HighLevel's pricing page for current plan details including the 14-day free trial.

For a broader view of how we evaluate tools on this site, see our how we research page.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is ClickUp free for small agencies?

ClickUp's Free Forever plan is available at $0 per user per month with no credit card required. It includes unlimited tasks, unlimited team members, Time Tracking, Sprint Management and Kanban Boards, but storage is capped at 60 MB and automations are not included. Most agencies will outgrow it and move to the Core plan at $9 per user per month billed annually. Confirm current limits at ClickUp's pricing page.

Does monday.com offer a free plan for agencies?

Monday.com has a free plan capped at 2 seats, which is not practical for a team of any size. The Basic plan at $9 per seat per month (annual billing, 10-seat basis) is the realistic entry point for agencies. Confirm current pricing and any active promotional offers at monday.com's pricing page.

Which plan includes white labeling on ClickUp or monday.com?

White labeling on ClickUp is included on the Enterprise plan only, which is custom-priced; contact ClickUp sales for a quote. Monday.com's Enterprise plan is also custom-priced. Neither tool offers white labeling on self-serve plans as of the pricing pages checked in November 2026. If branded client-facing project views are a must-have, confirm availability and pricing with each vendor before signing a contract.

How do ClickUp and monday.com compare for marketing agency automations?

At the mid-tier plans, monday.com's Pro plan includes 25,000 automation actions per month versus ClickUp Business's 10,000. For agencies with high automation volumes — multiple client campaigns triggering status changes, notifications and integrations simultaneously — the monday.com Pro ceiling is higher at this tier. Both jump significantly at Enterprise level. Verify the exact numbers on each seller's current pricing page before building workflows.

Do these tools integrate with HighLevel or agency CRMs?

Both ClickUp and monday.com advertise broad third-party integration support from their mid-tier plans and above. Whether a specific CRM or tool in your stack is directly supported should be confirmed in each platform's integration directory before purchasing. ClickUp's Core plan lists Google Drive, Dropbox and Box integrations; monday.com's Standard plan includes 250 integrations per month from a supported library — verify the specific connections you need on the seller's page.

What is a realistic monthly cost for a 10-person agency?

Using the published annual pricing verified in November 2026: ClickUp Business for 10 users is $17 per user per month, totaling $170 per month billed annually. Monday.com Pro for 10 seats is $19 per seat per month, totaling $190 per month billed annually. Prices change; always confirm on the seller's current pricing page and factor in any add-ons your team needs before committing to a full year.

Should I use a project management tool or a CRM platform for managing client work?

These serve different functions. A CRM like HighLevel manages client relationships, pipelines, communications and marketing automation. A project management tool tracks tasks, deadlines, assignees and deliverables. Most agencies need both: the CRM handles the client relationship and campaign execution, while the project management layer keeps internal work organized. Some agencies also add a dedicated client portal. Our Assembly Client Portal review and HubSpot for Agencies review cover the CRM and portal sides of this question.

The Bottom Line

Choose ClickUp if your agency values deep configurability, a low per-seat cost and a generous free-forever option for getting started. The Core plan at $9 per user per month billed annually is a strong starting point for most small to mid-sized teams, and the Business plan at $17 covers the time tracking, advanced dashboards and automation volume most agencies need. See current pricing and start a free trial at ClickUp's website.

Choose monday.com if your team prioritizes a clean, intuitive visual interface that account managers and creatives can adopt quickly. The Pro plan at $19 per seat per month gives a higher automation ceiling at the mid-tier, and the review record — 4.7 out of 5 on G2 from 17,879 reviews, 4.6 out of 5 on Software Advice from 6,124 reviews, both checked October 2026 — reflects strong real-world satisfaction. See current pricing at monday.com's website.

If you are building out a full agency stack around your project management choice, our guides on best funnel builders, best landing page builders and AI-powered social media management tools cover the adjacent software decisions in the same honest, specification-based format.

Agency Tools Review is reader-supported: when you buy through links on this page, we may earn a commission at no extra cost to you. How we make money

What customers say

Ratings real customers left on independent review sites for the brands in this guide. We show every site we found, not just the best score.

  • HighLevel: 4.9/5 on Trustpilot (15,264 reviews) · 4.6/5 on G2 (659 reviews) (checked October 2026)
  • ClickUp: 4.5/5 on TrustRadius (1,758 reviews) (checked October 2026)
  • monday.com: 4.7/5 on G2 (17,879 reviews) · 4.6/5 on Software Advice (6,124 reviews) (checked October 2026)

Get deal alerts from Agency Tools Review

Price changes, free trials and product updates for the tools you use — straight from the brands, with our honest take. About once a week, only when something changes.

What do you want alerts on?

We'll email you once to confirm. Unsubscribe any time with one click. We earn a commission on some purchases.

© 2026 Agency Tools Review. All rights reserved.

Privacy Policy·Terms of Service